The End of a Chapter

It has been a little while since I last blogged. I didn’t appreciate how much time and effort blogging requires, so hats off to those of you who manage to blog regularly, let alone frequently. I have no real excuse, just life’s demands getting in the way.

Anyway, on with the show. So when I left you last, I had two cakes to bake in order to finish Chapter One of Mary Berry’s Baking Bible: an Old-Fashioned Seed Cake and a Carrot Cake, or one new friend and one old friend.

First, with the new friend, the dreaded Seed Cake. I need not have worried. The recipe promised a buttery tasting, light cake and it delivered just that. It contains dried peel in as well as caraway seeds. Mr D and I both enjoyed it. B&B were less impressed, but I didn’t really expect them to like it. I took the rest to work and there were no complaints there either. Will I make it again? Probably not, particularly with a limited receptive audience, but I’m glad I tried it; that is after all, the point of adventures.

Meanwhile, back on safer ground and back to an old friend, carrot cake. Most people seem to enjoy this and certainly my family all do. I’ve made it many times over the years and I would like to say at this point, that it was introduced to me by a friend, Fi, for whom it was already an old favourite. I think one of the recipes I already have is hers originally and I am grateful for that and for her to introducing the cake to me. This recipe was much the same, with the usual grated carrot, mashed bananas and chopped walnuts in the cake as well a decadent cream cheese topping & filling. It is a sponge made with (sunflower) oil rather than butter, which I’m not mad keen on, but it’s the result that counts and that’s bang on. If you’ve never had it, you should treat yourself. Still not sure? Look at the finished article below and see if that helps at all.

Next time, the beginning of Chapter Two: Fruit and Nut Cakes. Happy Baking to all my fellow bakers.

Leave a Reply

